DIY: Wool Pom Pom Wreath

10 Dec

Good morning! I don’t know what has come over me this year, but I can’t stop crafting! My latest project is my best yet (I think). Have you all seen the fabulous Anthropologie tufted wool wreath? I love it, but it was around $300. No way would I ever spend that! I then saw a DIY version on Pinterest and thought I can do that. And I did! It turned out so fabulous! Here is the Anthropologie version:

anthro wreath

Here is my version:

SLD Wreath

Want to see how I did it? I documented the steps for you. (Please forgive all the shadows. I took the pictures on my phone.)

Supplies:

4 bundles of yarn. Make sure it is thick and fluffy.

1 Styrofoam wreath form

Stick pins (or hot glue, but pins were super easy)

Ribbon of your choice

Scissors

IMG_0077

Step 1:

Wrap the yarn around 3 fingers (4 if you want fluffier pom poms) Wrap around 40 times.

IMG_1710

Step 2:

Gently slide bundle off fingers and cut another piece of yarn about 6-8 inches long.

IMG_1711

Step 3:

Wrap the long piece of yarn around the middle of your bundle. Make sure it is pretty tight so your pom pom won’t fall apart later.

IMG_1708

Step 4:

Take your scissors and insert them into one side of your bundle, then cut. Repeat on the other side.

IMG_0079

Trim all the extra long pieces and fluff the pom pom.

Repeat this process until you have enough to cover the wreath.

Step 5:

Start pinning the pom poms onto the wreath. I used 2-3 pins per pom pom to make sure they stayed.

IMG_1713

IMG_1715

It took about 16 pom poms to cover the top. 14 for the middle and 18 for the outside. Yes, this project is a little tedious, but it was pretty easy and the result is great!

Wool Wreath

Notice those trees? I’ll show you how I DIYed those tomorrow!

Wool Wreath Close Up

What do you think? If any of you attempt this project I’d love to see it!

sig

Leave a Reply

