Designer Spotlight: Heather Ashton Design

9 Dec

Good morning! I hope you all had a wonderful weekend! Today I am introducing you to LA based designer Heather Ashton. Heather has collaborated with some of the most iconic trendsetters in the hospitality industry such as hotelier Andre Balazs, interior designer Mary MacDonald, and Carolyn Bessette-Kennedy at Calvin Klein. Heather has been the designer on many projects in the LA area including LA LIVE’s Ritz-Carlton Residences and the Thompson Hotel. She also served as creative director for H.D. Buttercup stores overseeing merchandising and design. Heather has some exciting projects in the works including her own line of home furnishings. Heather’s interiors strike a wonderful balance between classic and contemporary. I know you will love her work. I was lucky enough to ask Heather some questions about design. Here are her answers and some of her beautiful spaces.

1. What inspired you to become an interior designer?

A: I was obsessed with both fashion and architecture growing up and interior design was a natural combination of both loves.

2. Where do you get your inspiration for your beautiful designs?

A: Inspiration comes from all directions and that’s what is so amazing about what I get to do.  I spend a lot of time researching to understand the influences of great design and the evolution of the processes. I get a lot of my unusual color combinations from the flowers at the market.  I’m an avid reader of magazines and visit museums and cultural institutions as much as possible. Yesterday, I saw a little girl wearing the craziest mix of polka dots and stripes, and thought, “that’s a great theme for whimsical throw pillows!”

3. Which interior designers do you look up to the most?

A: I enjoyed working for Mary McDonald and consider her my mentor.  I also admire Christian Liaigre and Ilsa Crawford. I’m slightly obsessed with Anoushka Hemple as she’s such a character and her work is so reflective of her personality.

4. What advice would you give a budding interior designer?

A: Find great vendors and contractors and stick with them.  I can’t count how many times one of my subcontractors has saved the day. I value my long and trusted relationships that have stayed the course over many successful projects.

5. What trends do you think we should look out for in 2014?

A: Bold Colors!  I believe the saturation of the washed linen and reclaimed wood look is starting to give way to a more classic Ralph Lauren-inspired aesthetic.

6. I know you have a line of home furnishings in the works. What should we expect to see?

A: My dream is to create a furniture line crafted around lifestyles.  For instance, a Metropolitan Heather Ashton, An English dandy Heather Ashton and a Clean Modern Heather Ashton.  I have so many loves when it comes to design styles, that I think my own designs will have to reflect the varied looks that I gravitate to.  I am excited to get going on my signature line of home furnishings and will keep you posted on the debut.

1

2

3

4

8

5

6

7via

If you want to see more of Heather Ashton’s beautiful work visit her website.

Leave a Reply

