DIY Artwork

1 Oct

Good morning! As I mentioned yesterday I painted a canvas in navy blue and gold to hang over my new bar cart. I have never called my self an artist. I am artistic person yes. I have a good eye for design and color, but never been a painter. I knew I wanted something simple yet eye-catching and this was the perfect fit. Here are the steps I took to achieve this art and how much it cost!

IMG_1382

I started with a blank 18 x 24 canvas. I bought Martha Stewart Deep Sea paint in a satin finish and a metallic gold. I like using the foam brushes for good coverage, but you could use any brush you like. I then used the other paint brush to get more texture in the gold.

Breakdown of cost:

All items from Michael’s Arts and Crafts store

18 x 24 Canvas: $14.99 (had a coupon so paid $8.99)

Navy paint : $1.99

Gold paint: $2.49

Foam brushes: $.49 each

Paint brush: $.59

Total: $15.04

art

Left: The canvas after one coat of navy paint. Right: After 3 coats of navy paint and one coat of gold.

The most important thing while doing the top color is not trying to make it perfect which was very hard for me. You have to just do long brush strokes. I did a total of 3 coats of gold also to get the best coverage. As you can see after 1 coat the blue still showed through.

DIY Artwork- Navy and Gold Painted Canvas | The Suite Life Designs

The finished product! I love how it turned out.

The Suite Life Designs Bar Cart and DIY Artwork

Here it is in all its glory above my bar cart.

I did one other DIY project for my bar cart. A small tray to set glasses on. Here is a closer look and breakdown of cost.

IMG_1409

Breakdown of cost:

All items from Michael’s Arts and Crafts store (except paper)

Wood tray: $2.49

Same gold paint from the canvas

Leftover paper from Paper Source (originally around $5)

Polycrylic protective finish I had leftover from another project

Total cost: $2.49!!

SLD-BC-14This tray is the perfect piece to break up the wood top of the bar cart.

Hope these projects inspire you to try a DIY project of your own!!

sig

9 Responses to “DIY Artwork”

  1. saritamar May 10, 2014 at 8:26 am #

    Are those acrylic paints?

  2. Cyndee March 9, 2015 at 11:05 am #

    Thank you, I would really like to try these.

  3. Kessie Clay March 11, 2015 at 3:13 am #

    Lovely DIY creation. It looks really artsy! Thanks for the tutorial.
    I shared this article on DIY best posts.

  4. Jess March 11, 2015 at 5:33 pm #

    What color paints did you use?

    • thesuitelifedesigns March 11, 2015 at 6:02 pm #

      I used Martha Stewart Brand craft paints in Deep Sea and Metallic Gold.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DIY Art – Home Decor - January 11, 2014

    […] Source […]

  2. Navy and gold painted canvas. Im in love- I could do so many of these together on a wall! - Amazingly DIY - March 19, 2015

    […] Via: thesuitelifedesigns.wordpress.com […]

Leave a Reply

