Design Styles

14 May

How do you define your design style? It is hard for me to define mine because I feel like I like bits and pieces of different styles. I like all different styles of decor even if it is something I couldn’t see myself living in it I can still appreciate good design.

My design style is a modern take on classic elements. My style can be pretty eclectic. I love color, but it has to be balanced with neutrals. Every space, I think, should have a touch of glam or sparkle. Being form Southern California has definitely influenced my design style. I gravitate towards comfortable effortless spaces. See how hard that was for me to narrow down my design style? Geez. Is it hard for you to define your style? Here are examples of my perfect spaces.

Modern

modern

via

modern2

via

Modern isn’t necessarily all minimalistic and about abstract art. I think making a space modern is all about the way you use unexpected elements or even classic items in a new way.

Classic

classic

via

classic2

via

Classic designs like these are soft colors, traditional upholstered headboards, and timeless elements.

Glamorous

glamorous

via

glamorous2

via

Every space should have a little glamour and that doesn’t mean it has to be over the top. The use of metals such as the gold used in these spaces add a glam touch.

Comfortable/ Coastal Inspired

coastal

via

comfortable

via

I have always been drawn to comfortable/ coastal inspired design. Growing up near the beach definitely influenced that. These casual yet still sophisticated spaces really inspire me.

So I guess my style is a modern take on classic elements with a few glam and coastal touches thrown in. Kinda a long description!  I love an eclectic mix. What is your design style?

sig

2 Responses to “Design Styles”

  1. Jennifer @ Brave New Home May 15, 2013 at 8:30 am #

    I don’t know! Being from So Cal too I feel like my style is more on the casual style. I agree with your style statement. Along the lines of eclectic I like some global flare and quirk thrown in there too. I think it’ll just take me some time before I settle into a design style.

    • thesuitelifedesigns May 15, 2013 at 10:03 am #

      Thanks for sharing! It is hard to pin it down. I feel like my style is constantly changing and evolving. Sounds like we are similar in that way 🙂

Leave a Reply

