Chew on This: The Perfect Mexican Meal

7 May

I haven’t done a food post in quite some time you all probably thought I forgot how to cook! Well, that is not the case I just usually forget to document it! So this past weekend for Cinco de Mayo I made a delicious meal for my husband and friends. I thought I would share my recipes with you! It’s making me hungry just writing this post! Mexican food is probably my favorite genre of food. I love homemade enchiladas so I made two kinds one with a red sauce and one with a homemade white sauce. To go along with the enchiladas I made a yummy cold corn salad.

Corn Salad

photo 2(1)

3 cups corn fresh or canned

1 clove garlic

1/2 small red onion chopped

cilantro

juice from 1 lime

2 tbsp crumbled Cojita cheese (or Feta I used Feta because I had it)

1 chopped jalapeno if you like spice

salt and pepper to taste

1. Cook corn over medium heat with garlic, onion, and jalapeno until cooked through.

2. Remove from heat and let cool to room temperature.

3. Then add salt, pepper, cilantro, and cheese.

4. Mix together and add lime juice.

Enjoy!

Red Sauce Enchiladas

photo 4

Disclaimer: I used canned red sauce for this recipe

I cooked 4 chicken breasts and shredded them and it made enough for 23 enchiladas.

Half onion chopped

Cilantro

1. Mix onion and cilantro into the chicken mixture

2. Fill interior with chicken mixture and handful of shredded Jack cheese.

3. Pour red sauce over enchiladas and top with cheese and olives. Cook at 350 for 30 minutes.

White Sauce Enchiladas

photo 3

Use same chicken mixture with cilantro and onion to fill these enchiladas.

Sauce:

2 tbsp butter

2 tbsp flour

2 small cans chopped green chiles

1 cup sour cream

1 1/2 cup chicken broth

1 1/2 cups grated jack cheese

1 tsp paprika

cilantro

1. In large skillet melt 2 tbsp butter and sprinkle in flour. Whisk together over medium heat for about a minute to create a roux. Pour in 1 1/2 cups chicken stock and cook for another minute. Stir in chiles. Reduce heat and add in 1 cup sour cream. Add in cheese and allow to melt. Stir in paprika.

2. Pour sauce over the assembled enchiladas. Sprinkle top with cheese. Let cook at 350 degrees for 30 minutes then sprinkle with cilantro.

I have to say these were some of the most delicious things I have ever made!

Enjoy!

sig

Leave a Reply

