DIY: Painted Trays

21 Jan

I hope you all had a great weekend! Mine sure flew by fast yet again. I had a chance to take some time and do a fun DIY project last week. I have been on the lookout for a tray for my home and haven’t been able to find one that I love or one that fits in a good budget so I figured I would make some myself! I went to Michael’s and found a set of 2 trays for less that $10 then of course I used a coupon from their ad. So I got black paint and trays for less than $10. Can’t beat that! Then I went to Paper Source and chose 2 beautiful papers (they have SO many to choose from it was hard to decide.) I got 2 pieces of paper for about $4 each and I have plenty left over I think I am going to frame some because I love them that much. For less than $20 I have 2 new trays that I love.

trays

 First I painted the black and gold. Then I used mod podge to adhere the paper to the tray and as a top coat over the paper. I then used Polycrylic that I had left over from another project to coat the wood and paper. The trays are now protected and shiny.

I haven’t decided exactly how to style them so I tried them out a few different ways.

DSCN0531

DSCN0533

DSCN0534

trays and coffee

trays and wine

DSCN0544

2 Responses to “DIY: Painted Trays”

  1. grandma January 21, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

    how pretty-they really turned out nice. you have so many good ideas.

Leave a Reply

