DIY Furniture Project

29 Feb

As I mentioned earlier this week I have been busy working on a furniture project this past weekend. I have a hand-me-down cabinet that I really like, but I wanted to change it up and refresh it. So, I decided to paint it a fun color.

Before.

Supplies.

The first thing I did was lift the cabinet slightly off the ground so it was easy to paint and remove the hardware and door. The second step was to sand it down really well since the piece had a polish and stain on it. This part took a little longer than anticipated. If you have an electric sander it would be a lot easier, but since I do not I used sanding blocks. They worked really well just took a while and a lot of elbow grease. (And a little help from my husband :)) I first used the 60 grit to get the majority of the stain and polish off. Then switched to the medium 180 grit. For best results switch from coarse to medium then fine grit sanding. I only used the fine sanding block in between coats of paint to get rid of rough patches. Make sure to always sand with the grain of the wood.

After I was done sanding it looked like the pictures above. I cleaned the whole piece really well to get rid of all the dust from sanding. Then I was ready to paint. I chose to use a paint brush vs. a roller, but either way would work just fine.  The paint I used is Valspar Twilight Meadow in a semi-gloss finish. It has primer mixed in so it eliminated an extra step. After the first coat of paint I lightly sanded any rough areas and cleaned the surface down before doing a second coat. Then I was ready for the finishing touch which is Polycrilic. This adds a nice finishing shine and professional look to your piece. It also eliminates any sticky feeling you can get after painting. I did two coats of this as well. After lots of drying time I put the hardware back on and I was done!

I absolutely LOVE the way it turned out! The color turned out even better than anticipated. I love how the old hardware looks against the turquoise color.

Hope these tips help you in your next painting project! Have a great day!

2 Responses to “DIY Furniture Project”

  1. Mom February 29, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

    Wow, that old piece of furniture looks great! I never would have thought to just put a coat of paint on it! Excellent work.

Leave a Reply

